I drive a lot.  And, I guess the one thing that really bothers me and gets “under my skin”, are people in the car ahead of me at a red light who text.  I really don’t care that they text – what affects me is often they continue to text and don’t notice the light has changed.  Then, after a few seconds I tap my horn, they look up into the rearview mirror, send their text and go through the light.  By that time, it has turned red for me and I have to sit there for another minute or so – steaming – before I can continue on my way.

Of course, I shouldn’t let it get to me; after all, I am letting their actions affect my attitude.  That shouldn’t happen.  But, the above scenario happens quite a bit since I live fairly close to the local high school and a lot of the teen drivers live in the neighborhood.  But, I’m not just picking on the high school students, it happens with adults all the time.

It seems the adults, especially the middle aged ones, are the ones who have the most trouble either dialing their cell phones or texting while they drive.  It happened 4 or 5 times today.  The vehicle in front of me was moving erratically ahead of me, moving from one side of it’s lane to encroaching into other lanes and with varying speed from 5 miles below the limit to 5 miles over the posted limit.  When I finally was able to pass (this was on residential streets and on the Interstate), I glanced over and it was an adult holding the wheel with one hand and the cell phone with the other and trying to “finger” something – texting or dialing – I couldn’t tell.

I guess that’s the way things are going to be.  Technology and all have made things easier in our world, but I have noticed that people get addicted to some of that technology and have to use their phones continuously to check e-mail, communicate by text, and talk from the time they get into their cars until they arrive wherever they are going.  Sometimes they use the cell phone for everything excepting talking. What did we do before cell phones.

When I try to talk to someone and they are too engrossed with their phones, I just move on to something else.  Sometimes I have become rude and have told them that whenever they get through and have the time, we can finish our conversation.  Sometimes, I’ve just stopped talking and stared at them until they figured out something wasn’t right.  Sometimes they get it and sometimes they don’t.  Sometimes it gets downright hilarious.

Maybe it’s me who needs to change.  But, I don’t think so.  I don’t like to talk while I drive and think it is very unsafe.  You can’t do two things well at the same time.  You can’t react while talking and certainly not while texting.  In fact, you can’t even see the road when you look down to text.  And, at 60 miles per hour on the highway, all you have to do is look down for a second and could be in serious trouble – or dead.

No, maybe I just need to take something to calm me down, put on some relaxing music and just ignore everyone else out there while driving – of course, I can’t ignore things too much or it could end up being like bumper cars!

